Cricket South Africa (CSA) yesterday in Pretoria launched the 4-team Women’s T20 Super League which will provide more opportunities for female cricketer around the country. The inaugural edition takes places between 6-8 September and the second-leg of the competition will take place in Cape Town in December.

According to CSA, the Women’s T20 Super League will help ensure growth of the development pipeline and widen the pool of players that will be available for national selection. The tournament format is set to mirror the Proteas Women’s international schedule with this year’s edition aimed at preparing the players ahead of the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

The T20 League will give young players such as Soweto and Gauteng duo of Palesa Mapoo and Kgomotso Rapoo the opportunity to shine and develop into better cricketers as they will be playing against some of the best South African Women’s cricketers. Mapoo recently scored 130* of just 67 balls and 55* of 39 balls at the Central Gauteng Lions Cricket Women’s T20 competition a couple of weeks ago.

“I think is a massive step forward, I think this first step will take us far into the future because we have the players that are year marked in our region, all around South Africa and just taking those younsters from high school into varsity , just showcasing what South Africa has,” said Claire Terblanche, Terblanche XI Head Coach.

CSA hopes that the T20 league will assist them in closing the performance gaps and in identifying players for the Proteas Women’s side. All the teams have U-19 players and this will be a good opportunity for them to learn from the Proteas Women and senior provincial stars.

“We are really excited, I think is a great initiative, we have seen globally around the world, there are events in Australia , the United Kingdom (UK)  and to finally have something of our own  in South Africa is something special. It is amazing as the young girls are going to get exposed to the quality of cricket at this level , is a wonderful platform to see young talent come through, “said Mignon du Preez.

The four Participating teams. Picture By CSA

The teams for the Women’s T20 Super League are: Devanarain XI, coaches by Denisha Devanarain. M. vd Merwe XI led by coach Martelize van der Merwe. F. vd Merwe XI, who will be coached by Francois van der Merwe. Terblanche XI with head coach being Claire Terblanche.

The captains of the four teams that will compete for the first ever Women’s T20 Super League title are, Sune Luus(M. vd Merwe XI) , Mignon du Preez (Devanarain XI, Laura Wolvaardt (Terblanche XI) and Nadine de Klerk (F. vd Merwe XI).

The tournament kicks off today with the first match between M. vd. Merwe vs F. vd. Merwe at the Irene Country Club at 09: 30. The later match takes place between the Terblanche XI and the Devanarain XI at 13: 30.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.